Energy certification

PEB certification

What is the PEB certificate?

The PEB (Energy Performance of Buildings) certificate constitutes an energy identity card for the building. It describes its energy performance, for a standardized use and climate, by means of numerical or alphabetical indicators. More simply, this classification system is appreciably comparable to the energy label of household appliances.

Concretely, this energy expertise is carried out by means of a defined calculation method. This implies a survey of the characteristics of the building linked to insulation on the one hand, and to systems consuming energy on the other hand (heating, domestic hot water, ventilation, auxiliaries, solar energy systems, etc.).

Once the data has been collected, they are compiled in software in order to determine the energy “rating” of the building being appraised. The PEB certificate is then drawn up and sent to the owner.

The objective of such a classification is to allow prospective buyers and tenants to be able to compare residential buildings with one another objectively, from an energy point of view.

In practice, article 237/28 provides that each owner must have a valid energy certificate during key moments in the life of a residential building: construction, change of owner or occupant (s) due to the effect of ‘a sale or a rental. This certificate must be communicated to the potential buyer or occupant. It is valid for a maximum of 10 years.

Is the PEB certificate compulsory?

In the Walloon Region: Since June 1, 2011, the PEB Certificate is compulsory for all transactions of a residential building (apartments & houses) as well as for rentals. The PEB certification relating to residential rentals is effective when a rental lease is renewed.

How is the PEB certification carried out?

After an initial contact aimed at fixing the terms of the site visit, you meet with the Approved Certifier so that he can carry out his inspection. It then measures the loss areas, checks the composition of the walls, inspects the energy production and recovery facilities (heating, domestic hot water, photovoltaic panels, heat pumps, etc.).

Visits can often be scheduled outside office hours as well as on weekends to suit the owner.

The duration of an inspection depends on the complexity of the residential building as well as the relevance of the documents provided. In general, the visit takes place in an interval of one to three hours maximum.

What documents must be provided during the certification?

Some documents are essential for a PEB Energy Certificate up to the performance of your building

The approved certifier draws up his report on the basis of his own visual findings. In an existing building, certain parameters necessary for the preparation of the EPB certificate cannot be observed directly when visiting the building. Thus, in the interest of the owner, it is therefore important to provide the certifier with as much acceptable evidence as possible, which may have a favorable impact on the “energy rating” of the residential building.

It is therefore essential that the owner collects all the documents relating to the building in his possession and make them available to the certifier during his visit.

Here is the most complete list of documents considered to be acceptable evidence in the context of the EPB procedure:

  • Plans (Facades & Levels)
  • Complete specifications with the final account of the work
  • Planning permission (for the date of construction only)
  • Original invoices from the contractor with a precise description of the work.
  • A photographic file showing the walls and their characteristics (insulation, air gap, etc.) during construction / renovation. It must be possible to clearly identify the location in the building.
  • The technical documentation of the heating installation
  • Green certificates for photovoltaic panels
  • A premium certificate from the Region for the placement of insulation
  • Complete documents for obtaining tax reductions for energy-saving investments (with documents signed and dated by the contractor)
  • The certificate, from the architect, author of the project and having followed the progress of the work, of certain characteristics influencing the thermal performance of the residential building
  • An existing EPB declaration (new housing only)
  • A previous energy certificate or an energy certificate of a dwelling that is part of the building or of the same group of buildings
  • A “Building with Energy” certificate
  • Etc …

Don’t worry if you don’t have all of these documents. They are in fact not all necessary for the preparation of the Certificate but can intervene during the justification of a favorable “energy rating”.

La certification énergétique

La certification PEB

Qu’est ce que le certifcicat PEB ?

Le certificat PEB (Performance Énergétique des Bâtiments) constitue une carte d’identité énergétique du bâtiment. Il décrit sa performance énergétique, pour une utilisation et un climat standardisés, au moyen d’indicateurs numériques ou alphabétiques. Plus simplement, ce système de classification est sensiblement comparable au label énergétique des appareils électroménagers.

Concrètement, cette expertise énergétique est réalisée au moyen d’une méthode de calcul définie. Cela implique un relevé des caractéristiques du bâtiment liées à l’isolation d’une part, et aux systèmes consommant de l’énergie d’autre part (chauffage, eau chaude sanitaire, ventilation, auxiliaires, systèmes à énergie solaire,…).

Une fois les données recueillies, elles sont compilées dans un logiciel afin de déterminer la “cote” énergétique du bâtiment expertisé. Le certificat PEB est alors dressé et transmis au propriétaire.

L’objectif d’une telle classification est de permettre aux candidats acquéreurs et locataires de pouvoir comparer les bâtiments résidentiels entre eux de manière objective, d’un point de vue énergétique.

Pratiquement, l’article 237/28 prévoit que chaque propriétaire doit disposer d’un certificat énergétique valide lors des moments clés de la vie d’un bâtiment résidentiel: construction, changement de propriétaire ou d’occupant(s) par l’effet d’une vente ou d’une location. Ce certificat doit être communiqué à l’acheteur ou à l’occupant potentiel. Il est valable pendant 10 ans maximum.

Le certificat PEB est-il obligatoire ?

En Région Wallonne : Depuis le 1er juin 2011, le Certificat P.E.B. est obligatoire pour toutes les transactions d’un bâtiment résidentiel (appartements & maisons) ainsi que pour les locations. La certification PEB relative aux locations résidentiels est effective lors du renouvellement d’un bail locatif.

Comment se déroule la certification PEB ?

Après une première prise de contact visant à fixer les modalités de la visite des lieux, vous rencontrez le Certificateur Agréé afin qu’il réalise son inspection. Il procède alors aux mesures des surfaces de déperdition, vérifie la composition des parois, inspecte les installations de production et de récupération d’énergie (chauffage, eau chaude sanitaire, panneaux photovoltaïques, pompes à chaleur, …). 

Les visites peuvent souvent être programmées en dehors des heures de bureau ainsi que les week-end pour arranger le propriétaire.

La durée d’une inspection dépend de la complexité du bâtiment résidentiel ainsi que de la pertinence des documents fournis. D’une manière générale, la visite se déroule dans un intervalle d’une à trois heures maximum.

Quels sont les documents à fournir lors de la certification ?

Certains documents sont indispensables pour un Certificat Énergétique PEB à la hauteur des performances de votre bâtiment

Le certificateur agréé établit son rapport sur base de ses propres constatations visuelles. Dans un bâtiment existant, certains paramètres nécessaires à l’élaboration du certificat PEB ne peuvent être observés directement lors de la visite du bâtiment. Ainsi, dans l’intérêt du propriétaire, il est donc important de fournir au certificateur un maximum de preuves acceptables, lesquelles pourront avoir un impact favorable sur la “cote énergétique” du bâtiment résidentiel.

Il est donc essentiel que le propriétaire réunisse tous les documents relatifs à l’immeuble dont il dispose et de les mettre à disposition du certificateur lors de sa visite.

Voici la liste la plus complète des documents considérés comme étant des preuves acceptables dans le cadre de la procédure PEB :

  • Plans (Façades & Niveaux)
  • Cahier des charges complet avec le décompte final des travaux
  • Le permis d’urbanisme (pour la date de construction uniquement)
  • Les factures originales acquitées de l’entrepreneur avec la description précise des travaux.
  • Un dossier photographique montrant les parois et ses caractéristiques (isolant, lame d’air,…) durant la construction/rénovation. On doit pouvoir clairement identifier la localisation dans le bâtiment.
  • La documentation technique de l’installation de chauffage
  • Les certificats verts pour les panneaux photovoltaïques
  • Une attestation de prime de la Région pour le placement d’isolant
  • Les documents complets d’obtention de réduction d’impôts pour des investissements économiseurs d’énergie (avec les documents signés et datés de l’entrepreneur)
  • L’attestation, de l’architecte auteur de projet et ayant suivi l’évolution des travaux, de certaines caractéristiques influençant les performances thermiques du bâtiment résidentiel
  • Une déclaration PEB existante (logements neufs uniquement)
  • Un certificat énergétique antérieur ou un certificat énergétique d’un logement faisant partie de l’immeuble ou du même groupe de bâtiments
  • Une attestation « Construire avec l’Energie »
  • Etc …

Ne vous inquiétez pas si vous ne disposez pas de la totalité de ces documents. Ils ne sont en effet pas tous nécessaires à l’élaboration du Certificat mais peuvent intervenir lors de la justification d’une “cote énergétique” favorable.